Skip to content

A note on OCP Versions and Artifacts

The OpenShift team cuts 4 different types of releases, all of them available from the download mirrors. However they differ on naming and location:

  1. Stable: highest quality release and intended for customer use.
  2. Release Candidate: early customer access for staging environments and integration testing.
  3. Dev preview: very early customer access for feature assessment and dev environments.
  4. Nightly: for inter-op and continuous testing.

Some differences:

For more information about the available builds, please reference the OpenShift Release Types documentation.

DCI uses component tags (in this case, an OCP build maps to a component in the DCI control server) to identify tags, DCI uses build:ga (or "general availability") for stable builds, build:candidate for RC builds and build:dev for dev preview and build:nightly for nightlies.

Here's a table to summarize the changes in URLs across all versions we have identified:

Build type DCI Tag OCP Mirror Base URL Namespace
Stable build:ga
Candidate build:candidate
Dev build:dev
Nightly build:nightly

The DCI OCP agent fetches the release.txt file from the OCP mirror and then parses it to figure out the SHA256 for the image to pull from Quay. This way there is no ambiguity on what image to download.